After 22 (!) years in academic libraries, I will be moving to the public library world in late June as I leave the Sonoma State University Library for a position as Lead Cataloger for the Sonoma County Library. I’ll miss working with my staff in Technical Services and many colleagues at SSU. My departure will leave a sizable hole in the cataloging and database maintenance end of things in Tech Services, but my work of the past four years has left the department in much better shape than when I came. We’ve tackled massive backlogs of materials waiting for cataloging (all gone!); a big backlog of depository government documents waiting to be offered; years of accumulated problems in the catalog database due to no headings authority control and a host of problem dating back to the migration to the current library computer system; a serious lack of written documentation that has since been replaced by an extensive wiki; and lot of needed training in all sorts of cataloging procedures.

I am looking forward to the challenges at the SCL. They haven’t had a professional cataloger in roughly 20 years and have a significant backlog of cataloging and database maintenance waiting for me. Authority control has been non-existent for all those years and they would like to start getting a handle on it as they begin reimplementation of their ILS later this year (MARCIVE here we come!). I’ll get a chance to do more original cataloging, but will still be the functional supervisor for the copy catalogers. Much of my original cataloging will be local history and genealogical materials, and Spanish language materials. I’ll also spend a few hours a week at the reference desk.

In addition to missing folks here at SSU, I will also miss the building (I’ll be in a cubicle in the basement of the main branch in downtown Santa Rosa), the many things the campus has to offer, and working with an Innovative Interfaces system (they are currently a Horizon library, but will likely be switching to Sirsi/Dynix Unicorn, which I…um..got to know, but not to love..at Stanford). On the other hand, I’ll have a much, much safer bike commute straight down the Rodota Trail (something that my family will appreciate!), better bus options, and more restaurant/cafe temptations.

I’ll be busy tying up loose ends over these next two and half weeks, so I’ve urged everyone to let me know if my help is needed or if there is anything I should document before I go. I didn’t take any break between my last job at Stanford and SSU and I’m really looking forward to actually using some vacation this time. I haven’t fully fleshed out plans for my break, but hope not to get many phone calls while I am hiking, replacing our fence or taking a recreational bike ride. Life is good.

