Although we’re not yet at the level of flooding that we saw in the New Year’s flood of 2006, the waters of the Laguna and every other body of water have been high and muddy. Wednesday the 20th’s bike commute was especially exciting. Calder Creek in Sebastopol raged through Ives Park and down through the culverts on its way to the Laguna…but with the Laguna at near-flood stage, there was nowhere for all that water to go. I started to go to the start of the Rodota Trail after dropping my son off to school and was met by a wide, brown pond in the parking lot across from the trailhead, more water covering Petaluma Ave., and a muddy geyser erupting from an manhole in the  Postal Annex lot. A detour was in order. Since I didn’t trust that I could ride across the Laguna on the trail, I rode along the highway (a bit scary!) and threw my bike across a gate on an access lane to the path a quarter mile east. More flooding awaited me at Llano Road, where Gravenstein Creek flowed over the trail and the road. Still more flooding at various points into Santa Rosa and then the sight of Santa Rosa Creek raging, with several portions of the trail well under water. Pretty awe-inspiring.

USGS scientists are seeing the possibility of major El Nino events in the next couple of weeks. I may be forced off my bike yet…

