I recently came across a list I had compiled of the various items I uncovered when I constructed the garden between our house and our neighbors’ house. I mostly found construction detritus, but a few odd items as well:

  • Bricks (pieces): 4
  • Fence post (section): 1
  • Rusty water(?) pipe (no longer connected to anything), but may have connected to a well at one time: 1
  • Soup spoon: 1
  • Pop top Natural Light beer can: 1
  • Cut and polished gabbro and granite slabs, perhaps counter top scraps: 4
  • Cut and polished gabbro and granite chunks, ditto: 30
  • Large hunk of granite: 1
  • Melted glass: 1
  • Marbles: 4
  • Pottery shards: 46
  • Glass shards (window and bottle): 30
  • Leather shoe heel: 1
  • Mussel and clam shells: 6
  • Beef bones (i.e., dog bones): 3
  • Wire pieces: 3
  • Nails (round; various sizes), loose: 100
  • Nails, rusted into a mass: ? [1 mass]
  • Half tennis balls: 1
  • Tenting clip (from termite treatment): 1
